What is COSTI?

The Coordinating Secretariat for Science, Technology and Innovation (COSTI) was established on February 1, 2013 as mandated by the cabinet decision of September 9, 2011 with the specific aim of coordination and monitoring of Science,

Manufacturing and Factory sector should be an important sector in economic value addition in giving resilience to the national economy.  Central Bank’s 2012 reports that the Industry sector in Sri Lanka grew by 10.3%, contributing substantially to the expansion of the economy in 2012.
Technological revolutions have been the basis for economic development in the world. It is envisaged that Science and Technology based innovation is crucial to achieve sustainable development in the country in the form of rapid economic development, social justice and environmental quality. Conversely, hi-tech industries in Sri Lanka still remains at a primitive stage which requires intensive novel thinking towards S&T Innovation based Industry via promoting value addition and commercialization.
At a time where technological transformations continuing at a rapid pace and the emergence of a globalized market place, all countries are heading towards becoming more innovative. In this backdrop to escalate our GDP throughincrease of high-tech value added exports from 1.5% to 10%, the COSTI had recognized emerging technologies such as biotechnology, nanotechnology, advanced materials, electronics &robotics, advanced design &manufacturing and  ICT & space technologyas the model tool to embrace and foster innovation for Sri Lanka.
National Council Co-chairs  
     National Council on Biotechnology     National Council on Nanotechnology
  Prof. Athula Perera
Emeritus Professor
University of Peradeniya
  Prof. Ajith de Alwis
Professor in Chemical and Process Engineering
University of Moratuwa
  Mr Rizvi Zaheed
Managing Director
Hayleys PLC                                   
  Dr Muditha Senarath-Yapa
Head, John Keells Research
John Keells PLC
  National Council on Advanced Materials   National Council on Electronics and Robotics
  Dr S U Adikary
Head of the Department of Materials Sciences and Engineering
University of Moratuwa
  Prof. J A K S Jayasinghe
Senior Professor,
Department of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering
University of Moratuwa
  Mr N R Bopearatchy
E B Creasy and Com PLC
  Mr Merrick Gooneratne
Executive Director
TOS Lanka Company (Pvt) Ltd
  National Council on Advanced Design & Manufacturing   National Council on ICT and Space Technology
  Prof. S D Pathirana
Professor in Production Engineering
University of Peradeniya
  Prof. S. A. Dileeka Dias
Professor, Department of Electronic & Telecommunication Engineering
University of Moratuwa
  Eng. Mangala P B Yapa
Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer
Colombo Dockyard PLC
  Eng. Madu Ratnayake
Senior Vice President / General Manager
Virtusa Corporation


Go to top Slot777 slot88